The Mill complex comprises a watermill, 5-sail windmill, 4-sail windmill and associated mill races, mill pond and wetlands. The history of the mills can be traced to the 16th century. A bakery was also established on the site by 1840. All three mills have been restored to working order by F.Á.S. and Fingal County Council and are open to visitors throughout the year.
The mills in Skerries demonstrate an efficient and clean use of water and wind power and are a rare survival of 17th, 18th and 19th century industrial history. Indoors: Visitors can see how the watermill works and view exhibits of milling equipment; mill stones, elevators, shakers, blowers, winnowers. Bright and sunlit tea-rooms and a well stocked craft shop are located on the first floor of the four-storey watermill building. Outdoors: A mill race runs from the mill pond along the edge of the cornfield to turn the waterwheel. Dominating the landscape however, are the two windmills, the 5-sail Great Windmill of Skerries and the older thatched 4-sail mill.
1st April -30th September 10am — 5.30pm daily
1 October - 31 March 10am - 4.30pm daily
Closed: 24th — 27th December & 31st Dec — 1st January
Guided tours - Coach & car park - Craft Shop
The Watermill Cafe - Exhibition space