St. Maurs GAA Club

The following profiles of the founder members of St. Maurs were compiled by Seamus Clerkin and were presented to the club in picture form at the annual mass for deceased members of St. Maurs on June 2003. Our 75th anniversary year. Family members of the founders were also presented with a Dublin Crystal Rose Bowl commemorating the foundation of the Club.Many thanks to Seamus for providing the information.


Founder Member St. Maurs - 28th June 1928.

A native of Derrymullen Co. Galway, Peter was mainly responsible for reforming the St. Maur's G.F.C. in 1928, while serving as a member of the Garda Sioch├ína in Rush. Peter went to St. Grellan's National School.  One of the teachers, Sean Keating, from Fethard Co. Tipperary, was very interested in Gaelic Football and was Secretary of the local G.A.A. Club.  In 1910 Jim Tully from Derrymullen, a close neighbour, was selected on the Galway Senior Football team which beat Roscommon in the Connaught Final in Athlone on 8th October 1910. Jim won provincial medals for Galway again in 1911 & 1914.  Jack Fallon, Peter's brother and Inter-county Referee, was very dedicated to football.  He was a member of the Galway Football Board and he represented Galway at the Connaught Council.  It was against this background that Peter Fallon got involved in football Ballinasloe won the Galway County Championship from 1913 to 1919 and all of this time Peter Fallon played half-forward on the great seven-in-a-row team.  From 1919 to 1926 Ballinasloe remained unbeaten but because of the Civil War some of the county championships were not completed.  Peter Fallon was a sub on the Galway side that defeated Roscommon in Tuam on 10th August 1919 in the Connaught Final.  They beat Kerry in a replay but were beaten by Kildare in the All-Ireland Final, now known as the Larry Stanley Final. There was no championship in 1921 but in 1922 Galway were beaten by Sligo. Galway objected and a replay took place at Croke Park, which Galway won. Peter Fallon was a sub on this team.  Mayo beat Galway in 1923 & 1924.  

Mick Jones ~ Founder

In 1925 Mayo represented Connaught in the All-Ireland Semi-Final which they won beating Wexford.  However, there were objections and counter objections with the results that Mayo were the only team left in the All-Ireland championship.  As Galway had qualified for the Connaught Final beating Leitrim in a replay, they were deemed to be eligible to contest the Connaught Final against Mayo.  The Connaught Final fixed for Parkmore, Tuam resulted in victory for Galway.  With no one else to play against in the championship Galway were deemed to be All-Ireland Champions. Peter played full-forward on the St. Maur's team that won the Division 3 Championship 1928/29 & and won the Division 2 Championship in 1929/30. 

His advice to young players is to keep practicing, as there is always something new to be learned every time you take to the field. 

To read more on it's founders and up to date information on St. Maurs GAA Club, go to

Tommy McCarville ~ Founder
Great place togolf
Great place tovisit
Great place toeat
how to findfingaldublin

FingalDublin uses cookies. More information Close